Skip to content

How Ghetto Is that?: Writing a fake memoir & getting on Oprah

March 16, 2008

Praised as “humane and deeply affecting” by The New York Times’ Michiko Kakutani, the memoir had a first printing of 24,000, and about 19,000 had been shipped. Sales figures were unavailable; as of Monday night, the book ranked No. 450 on Amazon.com.

Drugs, foster care, gangs and being biracial were the compelling topics of the latest fake faux memoir everyone began to fall in love with entitled, Love and Consequences. A rich, white suburban girl writes a wonderful memoir of a street life that never was. That’s a stretch.

Well, isn’t that something. People going around writing these fake memoirs and landing on Oprah. These books must have been delicious morsels of fine writing that just engaged the reader.

As a writer, I believe my writing is good enough so that I don’t have to “fake it”. Even though I don’t usually write memoirs, I talk about ethics and morals in my books, so it would be quite stupid for me to go against write I commonly write about. I hate “posers’. I would hope that 99% of the writers out there, who write on the topics I write about, actually practice what they preach.

I can’t even imagine how many writers are just pissed. I know I am angry. I think in the back of all our minds, we hope for a shot on Oprah. That’s a litterary no-brainer. The sudden exposure, the media attention. You would be an overnight sensation.

About Margaret Jones, “She even had someone claiming to be one of her former siblings. There was a substantial amount of supporting evidence,” he says. “We rely on our authors. Hopefully, this will inform our future actions, but we’re going to continue to rely on them to tell us the truth, and promise to tell us the truth.” says Riverhead Publishing vice president and publisher Geoffrey Kloske.

Riverhead published Margaret Jones’ fake memoir book, “Love and Consequences” and another book by faux memoir-ist, James Frey, who wrote a best-selling sequel to “A Million Little Pieces” or what I call “A Million fake words I typed to make money and land on Oprah…Yeah! It worked…Oh crap, they found out it’s fake.”

“If an author is determined to defraud the public, he or she will find a way to do so,” Bogaards says. “I don’t see us, or anyone else, really doing anything differently. Look, this is a business where publishers don’t even test recipes in the cookbooks.” – Paul Bogaards, head of publicity for Alfred A. Knopf [ publishing house] who published “A Million Little Pieces” create a fake by James Frey.

To Oprah and Oprah Winfrey Show producers, after you fall in love with my book entitled “She So Ghetto-What U Need 2 Know 2 Go From Hood Rat 2 Social Butterfly, contact me. I would submit to a lie detector test before I come on your show. You may have to start requiring this of all your author guests.

Seriously McMillan’s “She So Ghetto”

Source 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2008 7:50 am

    I can’t believe how often this happens. Why these people don’t just call their books fiction/historical fiction/based on some true events/etc is beyond me.

  2. Kathleen Quinlan Bonawitz permalink
    March 18, 2008 5:03 am

    Didn’t this happen last year with some other author?! Geez!

Leave a Reply

