Skip to content

Ghetto+Google=Gizoogle: Should I Laugh Or Cry?

March 17, 2008

So, I stumbled somehow on this website called “Gizoogle”.

It’s the “Google” of the ghetto. This is a non-profit website and are not affiliated with google in any way.

You put in text and it translates your words into ghetto “jive” also known as ebonics, which is supposed to be funny, right?

For example:

Here’s Gizoogles’ version of Jack and Jill.

“Jiznack n Jizzle wizzle up tha hill,
To fetch a pail of wata,
Jack fell dizzown n broke his crown,
And Jill came tumbl’n brotha J-to-tha-izzack gots n home he ran,
As fiznast as he could baller his killa bound his heezee,
with vinegar n brizzay papa.”

I had to stop somewhere in the middle. I’d rather learn a real lauaguage than to learn this silliness.

Nevertheless, This website does exist.

Now, in my humble opinion, I cannot condone this site. Maybe I am too old-fashioned. It is funny, but I find it more offensive than hilarious. I feel just the same about this website promoting a typical stereotype as sad as I find being called “white girl” or “white washed” for speaking properly.

The most offensive part about Gizoogle is the reputation that most african-americans speak this way. When I would guesstimate a larger portion would never speak this way. It’s just that the “ghetto” minority within the minorities get the majority or the publicity.

I know everyone reading this will click to the site so it may get a few thousand new hits today, but it’s like reporting the news. One may not like it, but it’s their duty.

I rate Gizoogle “Rated G” for “Get the Hizzle off the internet.”

Teach something that means something instead of this “jive”.

 

 

Although tinged with snarky comedy , I do not like Gizoogle.
Below, a pic from Gizoogles’ website.

Seriously McMillan’s “She So Ghetto” gizoogle

Source

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacalicious permalink
    March 17, 2008 7:32 pm

    Like you, I am disgusted, and not amused..

  2. fruitfly permalink
    March 18, 2008 12:31 pm

    it’s all about promoting the stereotype. everyone thinks white folks from kentucky are hillbillies and rednecks just because every time we have a storm they interview the guy with no teeth, a mullet, and probably a slight meth addiction who said the tornado “sounded like a freight train”… we’re not all like that around here. in my area, we’re the leading researcher for cancer treatments. i just wish the positive could show through a little more than the negative.

  3. March 18, 2008 12:41 pm

    LoL and kudos to you both

  4. April 1, 2008 9:30 pm

    i think its hilarious lol HAHAHAHa they’re just kidding around calm down

  5. Sarah Jane permalink
    April 26, 2008 8:57 pm

    Seriously, get off your high horse and get a sense of humor.

  6. April 26, 2008 11:47 pm

    Sarah Jane,

    It’s not a high horse…It’s a reality that kids and people I work with daily think this is they way to talk.

    Yeah, I am offended.

    I have a sense of humor about a vast may things…I just don’t like perpetuating a stereotype. There’s enough of that.

    I got it…
    Why don’t someone create:

    Southern Redneck +Google= Soogle Redneck, where’s ah yuh go gets yuh guns and shoots yuh sum coon, niggas and beaver and sexualates yur sister, muther and yur sister’s muther and their beaver.

    Or

    Fag+Google= Fagoogle
    Cuz, girl you know I can’t think of a way to offend gays anymore than that.

    I hope you see where I am coming from…

    Maybe you would if you had to deal with a society that says “laugh at and steroetype people that do “this” and then they go do it because they think others should just “get off your high horse and get a sense of humor.”

    truly,
    Seriously

  7. Sarah Jane permalink
    April 27, 2008 5:02 am

    I see where you are coming from, but I still think you need to loosen up just a bit.

    And just to clear things up, I didn’t even realize your name was “Seriously”. So I wasn’t directing my comment at you personally.

    P.S. If you are going to write about stereotyping the way people speak, you may want to check your own spelling and grammar.

  8. April 27, 2008 5:18 am

    Sarah Jane,

    Thanks for coming back. I mean it. I welcome your comments.

    Do I seem tightly wound? I may seem a bit hard nosed on certain subjects that I am passionate about, but I would say someone who makes 40 flavors of popcorn is pretty ‘loose’.

    Yes, that’s what I really do for a living. Blue Raspberry, Cherry, B-B-Q popcorn… you know.

    One thing I am not is purfekt…so I understand my spelling errors…

    Sorry about the typos if they bothered you. I just get to typing and not to spell checkin’!

    Better typing necks time…. get it? ‘Necks’ time?

    Truly,
    Seriously
    🙂

  9. Sarah Jane permalink
    April 27, 2008 6:12 am

    You know, I really thought more about what you said, and I really do understand where you are coming from.

    I guess I don’t take it seriously because of where I come from. My town is incredibly diverse (my high school was 43% African American) and I still never heard people speak that way. Growing up in a bubble made me believe that stuff was just a big joke.

    P.S. Don’t worry about the spelling. I’m just insane. And a little OCD about that kind of thing.

  10. April 27, 2008 2:21 pm

    Sarah Jane,

    You’ve got a spark to ya. I like you.

    You are kinda like the lioness..grrrr!

    You can out of the starting gate geared up. Meowww!

    Could we talk. I would love to get your perspective on things I am writing about in my next book.

    I think I have something to learn from you. Would you mind sharing with me?

    Email me.

    shesoghetto@gmail.com

    Cheers to Sarah Jane! The spunky lady!

    Truly,
    Seriously
    🙂

    I look forward to your email.

  11. omg permalink
    April 30, 2008 5:19 pm

    you peple are all retarted

  12. April 30, 2008 6:10 pm

    omg: You are retarded-izzle, too shizzle. LOL

  13. Derrick white permalink
    May 1, 2008 3:19 pm

    look someone wants to get laid!

  14. Johnson permalink
    May 1, 2008 9:00 pm

    i think u all need a little fun in ur lives. i agree w/ sarah jane. u do need 2 get off ur high horse

  15. glorious permalink
    May 5, 2008 2:13 am

    i completely agree with you. all those thoughts went through my head too

  16. john permalink
    May 9, 2008 11:50 am

    get a life, if this offends you, you must be a massive loser, and you know you are

  17. lilmissthang permalink
    May 16, 2008 10:21 pm

    umm, i dunno why the website bothers u so much. if u dont like it, then dont go to it. dont ruin the fun for others. and stop tryna use all them big words in ur lil explanation. u dont even make sense lol it sounds like ur trying to make urself sound “smart” by usin big words n shidd but u sound stupid. u no the only reason u did it was because the website is “ghetto” and its not even really ghetto cuz we dont say FORSHIZZLE and WASSIZZLE n shidd. we jus b like WAS GOOD. black ppl hav never sayd FORSHIZZLE.. nor hav whites, spanish ppl, asians or no one. the only person i kno is snoop dogg n he dont really talk like that foreal. dont pin ghetto on us blacks.. cuz there damn shure is some ghetto ass spanish ppl and white ppl AND asian people [believe it or not] at my school .. && if u really wanna talk about black ppl, white ppl say “O.M.G” and “J.K” and “L.O.L” out loud like dat shid makes sense.. so get da fuckk outta here wit dat shiddd..

  18. nenitalinda17 permalink
    December 2, 2008 2:48 pm

    I think you should stop talkin shid n get ova yaself cuz nobody even talks like that anymore
    maybe ya lame ass friends do or did but its 2008 baby n now a days nobody talks like that
    stop hating on everybody and get a life
    do yu got a problem or sumthin??sounds like somebody needs to get laid…but you just racist.
    get ova yaself and stop talkin shid

Trackbacks

  1. agardchen » Blog Archive » Ghetto+Google=Gizoogle: Should I Laugh Or Cry?
  2. giulia » Blog Archive » Ghetto+Google=Gizoogle: Should I Laugh Or Cry?

Leave a Reply

