Skip to content

Niggas: The White & Black Of Things

April 9, 2008

Here it is folks.

I could not have done a better job myself.

Chris Rock has become this quiet empire of social awareness. The movies he directs are not only hilarious, but they come with a lesson. I like 2-for 1 movies.

Anyhow, my lovely god-daughter asked me if I had seen Chris Rock’s movie, I Think I Love My Wife. I said, “No, I have not had time to watch a movie.”

So I watched it and I loved it.

The family Chris Rocks’ character has started with his wife is the kind of family I grew up in. Supportive and protective suburban family. I am glad I did not have to grow up in the streets. Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t privileged. I wasn’t born with a silver spoon in my mouth.

My point is, to all those who do not understand parts of african-american culture, I want you to know thatevery black person did not grow up “ghetto”.

In the scene below, I totally identify with Chris Rocks’ character.  He is mortified when a stereotypical “nigga” is around him and is confused when the white guy is calling himself a “nigga” while indulging in his music.

These scenes are the reason why I do what I do. They are the reason why I wrote my book. They are the reason why I LOVE manners and etiquette and everything they encompass.

I do not like the “ghetto” mentality. I do not like loud and obnoxious “niggas” of any race.

I breathe a sigh of relief that this scene explains me, my friends and family and thousands of people all over the world.

Kudos to Chris Rock for this scene.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2008 4:08 pm

    I agree with you. It’s a shame that tthe ghetto mentality is what we usually see, with no explanation.

    absurdtosublime.blogspot.com

Trackbacks

  1. Funny Videos

Leave a Reply

