Skip to content

Not Black Enough: The Trouble With Suburban Blacks

April 16, 2008

For those who have a sense of humor, this video is for you.

I am a black woman who is stereotyped as a black who “acts white”. I am told I act white because I am not a hoochie mama and I have manners in public.

I do not go around talking loud and swearing in public like some blacks…and some whites…and some latinas…some asians…and some others do. I do not wear tight clothes, pop my butt, listen to rap music in my car turned up WAY TOO LOUD.

These are stereotypical things that black women are supposed to do, right?

I don’t “act white”. I act suburban. ‘Cuz dude, that’s where I grew up. I grew up in a neighborhood with clean streets, borrowing sugar from the neighbors and absolutely no gun shots.

The guy in this humorous video could probably have been my neighbor, or yours. We have similar issues and he brings them out in this video that had me laughing so hard I scarred my family.  Have a laugh on me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 23, 2008 6:23 pm

    I laughed my ass off when I saw the sandwich dripping with mayo.

    Funny video!

Leave a Reply

