Skip to content

Celebrity Beat Down: Media Picks On Oprah

May 28, 2008

she so ghetto oprah and stedman

Has billionaire Oprah Winfrey’s image started to slip?

Her image?  What’s her image have to do with her empire.

The media is scrambling trying to find a crack in Oprah’s own media foundation to look for damage.

Here’s what they found.

she so ghetto oprah  o magazine cover

  • The Oprah Winfrey Show has lost 7 percent of it’s viewership this year alone.
  • The Audit Bureau of Circulations reports that Oprah’s magazine O has fallen off more than 10 percent in the last three years.
  • Oprah has taken a bit of a beating for her endorsement of political candidate Barack Obama.
  • One of Harpo’s latest programs, The Rachael Ray Show, has recently fallen off of Nielsen’s list of the top 25 syndicated programs.

Oh no!  Is there trouble in Oprah-dise?

My opinion is that if you don’t have stock in crude oil right about now, you may see some changes in TV viewing and in magazine sales.  All markets fluctuate.

Somewhere, there’s supposed to be a story about Oprah falling off the horse, right?  Tons of people want to see Oprah slip, trip and fall into media obsurity by making the wrong media choices.  I don’t think it’s going to happen.

I totally grew up on Oprah and have learned a lot from her show.  I think her audience may be in transition, as I find myself not having much time to watch her show or indulge in some of her other media choices.

I know one thing for sure… I would not have the confidence to do what I am doing in my life, without watching Oprah climb the media mountain and stick a flag at the top.  She is one of my inspirations.  And I know many people who would agree!  Oprah inspires, period!

Besides, The Oprah Winfrey Network (OWN) will broadcast empowering programs.  She also has a new gig going on Satellite radio.

Make no mistake – the brand is very much alive but the slippage is significant.

Clearly the empire is still churning right along and generating mega revenue at every turn. Evidence is mounting that would suggest that people have started to consider Oprah a mere mortal where once she was worshiped by the masses; no doubt a humbling experience for Lady O – and then again maybe not.

Source

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jeffrey permalink
    May 31, 2008 6:57 am

    Oprah’s 4 interviews with Jill Bolte Taylor were the first that Oprah did after Eckhart Tolle and they take everything Tolle talks about to another level. Oprah’s copy of Jill’s book, MY STROKE OF INSIGHT, was dog-eared and all marked up and kept reading from it the way she read from A New Earth and recommended it highly.

    Oprah’s recommendation was enough for me. I read My Stroke of Insight and I loved it too. This story is as inspiring as The Last Lecture or Tuesdays with Morrie – and even better, it has a Happy Ending!

    I bought the book on Amazon because they have it for 40% off retail and they also had an amazing interview with Dr Taylor that I haven’t seen anywhere else – Here is the Amazon link: http://www.amazon.com/My-Stroke-Insight-Scientists-Personal/dp/0670020745/ref=pd_bbs_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1211471755&sr=1-2

Leave a Reply

