Skip to content

BET’s Baldwin Hills Vs. MTV’s The Hills

June 2, 2008

Seriously McmIllan she so ghetto Baldwin hills BET

Seriously McmIllan she so ghetto The Hills

Ever hear of Baldwin Hills? I hadn’t. Since I don’t watch much of BET, I had never even heard of it.

Well, I am glad I found it.

Since there are only like two channels on basic cable that feature “black” entertainment, it’s much easier for the 100’s of other channels to play up their programming.

Baldwin Hills is the “black” version of MTV’s “Laguna Beach”, which then gave birth to “The Hills”.

I hear about “The Hills” everywhere, and I have never even seen a show. Yet, “Baldwin Hills” is virtually unknown, except to exclusively black audiences.

I mean, “Baldwin Hills” doesn’t even have a WIKIPEDIA page like “The Hills.”

I find that sad since MTV and BET are virtually two sides of the same coin, named VIACOM.

After seeing some Youtube clips, “The Hills” Way too melodramatic for me.

Here’s my take on the mindless banter on “The Hills”

Lauren: “Like, I like this guy… and you know…like, I’d like him more if he…”

Heidi: “If he what?”

Lauren: “If his brand new BMW convertible was yellow instead of red.”

Heidi: “Oh, I so knew it. I told him you’d “put out” only in a yellow BMW convertible car. I’m texting him right now on my Marbl. I am going to tell him the truth about you and the yellow convertible car.”

Ok. So, I am being silly. But, so is “The Hills”.

Seriously McmIllan she so ghetto Baldwin hills BET 2

From left, Garnette, Willie and Makenzy on “Baldwin Hills.”

The “Baldwin Hills” clips I have seen are silly, too. But, it’s nice to see a cast of color.

You find those you root for and those you hate. Same as any fake “reality” show.

I don’t understand why MTV doesn’t just have a cast that is multi-cultural on a show the same level as the “The Hills.”

Something besides “The Real World.”

She So Ghetto Treasure Hunt Contest

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Hills Lover permalink
    June 21, 2008 10:28 pm

    rofl. im black and i love the Hills. I hated Baldwin Hills..
    because they tried to make a good name for black people but they didnt succeed

    they was ALWAYS arguing..i mean Laguna Beach.. they rarely got into a fight or thats what they showed but Baldwin Hills it was like every episode..

    & people like to watch The Hills because they are off into fashion..so mostly fashion lovers watch it..

    the kids from Baldwin Hills was just doing nothing..

    Also the kids from Laguna Beach was pretty.
    sorry its true..people will watch the show if its full of pretty people..there was like only a few people off Baldwin Hills that was cute..
    Not so much attractiveness..

    ugh glad that show got cancelled or will never appear on tv again
    also Newport Harbor..that was gay

  2. 265kid permalink
    July 2, 2008 3:30 pm

    well sorry to tel you but BET did not cancel Baldwin hills it has a second season and i think its gong to be great and gerren tayler is so beautiful in my eyes

  3. July 10, 2008 9:45 pm

    i’ve never seen either show. yeah, well, what can i say? though the baldwin hills deal sounds ok. i’d check it out if i had cable these days.

Leave a Reply

