Skip to content

Obama’s Daughters: They Must Be Proud Of Their Papa

June 4, 2008

This is not a post about politics.

This is a kind of a pre-father’s day post.

This is kind of a personal post.

Seeing Barack Obama’s daughters next to him brought back my own personal memories about my back back to the forefront.

My father was a Baptist Minister in Cincinnati, OH in the 1970’s. I remember that he had a booming voice, similar to MLK and a great rhythm to his speeches and sermons from the pulpit.

My dad was tall (‘cuz i was a kid), dark and handsome and I look a great deal like him.

Sadly, my father passed away in 1980 from illness. He was a technology fan, gadget fan and a sci-fi movie fan. It’s too bad that he missed the 80’s up to today, we would have been the first on our block with all the coolest and latest “stuff”.

He took me to see “Star Wars” on opening night back in ’77. We waited in a long winding line and finally we got into the theatre and the movie began.

Shortly after, the film broke. Right at the scene where we see Darth Vader for the first time. It seems like it happened just yesterday.

There was cheering, jeering and popcorn tosses from the crowd for about 10 mins, which seemed like forever, in kid time.

Then the film came back on and I fell in love with Luke Skywalker at the age of 5.

Seriously McmIllan she so ghetto obama daughters

I mention all of that to say this, I can see how proud the Obama daughters are of their father, yet they probably are just thinking, “This is dad’s job”.

It’s probably hard to process everything that their father is doing. It was for me because I was young.

Going back and forth between playing with toys and knowing your dad might be the next president, to me at their age, I would guess that my Barbie doll would take priority.

I mean, I thought my dad just had a job. I didn’t realize he did such an important job.

I am sure, when Obama’s daughters grow up, they will feel the same. They just don’t understand all that is going on around them and their lives, and that’s probably a good thing. Childhood is short enough already.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2008 6:05 pm

    Sounds like your dad was a great guy too. My dad was also wonderful. He was a hard-working factory worker in Detroit but to me he was as important as the President when I was a young girl.
    It is a blessing to have a strong male figure in your life. I pray Obama inspires many young men to grow up and be strong fathers too. It is just what this society needs.

  2. Moodz4Modernz permalink
    June 4, 2008 6:24 pm

    On Tuesday, June 3, 2008 we all became Obama’s daughters.

    In spite of Hillary’s unfortunate and jaundiced performance, last night was a special and historic night. Nothing anyone could do or say will ever diminish that. Barack Obama is the Democratic nominee for the office of President of the United States of America. Say it loud!

Leave a Reply

