Skip to content

Bad Manners: Saying “That’s So Gay!”???

October 8, 2008

Can you say:

  • “That’s so Negro”
  • “She’s so WHITE!”
  • What about “She so Ghetto”?

I don’t want to sound like one of those people that try to say “I have black friends” when I say “I have gay friends”, but this little situation is a bit sticky for me.

I’m not gay. So, I really don’t know if it’s troublesome term.

I would never say “That’s so gay” in an offensive way. As a matter of fact, I don’t say it at all.

But for those that do, is it right to say that you can’t or shouldn’t say it?

Hummmm.

I would say this. It’s about the meaning behind the words.

You can’t say “Yo, my nigg*s” and mean “Oh, my very black friend.”

You can’t use an offensive term and turn it into something funny or friendly.

What do you think?

I think they need to do an anti “My Nigg*s” PSA!!!

Offended by people who things like “That’s so gay,” Hilary Duff is taking a stand for homosexuals. In a new PSA, Hilary Duff discourages the use of potentially offensive, anti-gay slang.

Most people, generally teens, who use this language don’t do so to offend gay people, and many don’t even realize when they use this terminology because it has become so widely used in youth social circles.

Bad Manners=Purposely Offend Others

Good Manners= Refrain From Offending

Don’t say “That’s So Gay!”- Refrain from offending = Good Manners

Source

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

