Skip to content

Elderly Woman Arrested For Keeping Rude Kid’s Ball Thrown In Her Yard

October 20, 2008

She took a teenager’s ball and wouldn’t give it back.  Now 89 year-old Edna Jester from Blue Ash is facing charges.

“I said go ahead and arrest me.  Handcuff me if you’d like, because I said I’m not guilty of anything,” said Jester.

Thursday, Blue Ash Police arrested Jester for petty theft after taking her teenage neighbor’s football that was in her yard.

The incident was caught on tape by people across the street who support Jester.

“Taken down and interrogated, a 90 year-old lady. It almost hits home like this is the United States, this can’t happen and this is absolutely ridiculous,” said neighbor Kevin Pike.

Kelly Tanis has 5 children and says Jester has taken balls from her children before.  So she called the police.

“This time it was a ball that my son had just bought with his own money.  He works and he makes his own money, and he bought that ball ,and six days later she took it.”

Blue Ash Police say they didn’t want to arrest Jester.  Instead, they just wanted her to give the ball back.

Jester says that wasn’t going to happen.

Arrested For Keeping A Ball

Edna Jester: Arrested For Keeping A Ball

What the heck is going on?

Can you imagine how many times a person like ‘Mr. Wilson’ would have been arrested because of ‘Dennis the Menace’?

Honestly, I believe I live in the twilight zone.  There are bass-ackwards events that occur here.  Somewhere, I feel Rod Serling, smoking around me and introducing my life as a lesson in The Twilight Zone.

The Blue Ash Police…who are, in my opinion, as crooked as twisted metal for arresting an 89-year-old woman who refused to return the ball of a kid, who apparently has had a problem practicing “this land is your land, this land is my land” and throwing his football repeatedly into her yard.

How rude!  I mean, some old lady neighbor should give it back!  Who cares if she’s sick and tired of having some unruly teens and kids’ ball in her yard?

I say, “Burn the Ball”.  There has got to be some civility here.  This elderly woman deserves some repect and you, parents of the unruly kids, should honor that.

If the lady don’t like balls being thrown in her yard, accident or not, then go play ball somewhere else or learn to throw a ball.

The parents of this kid should get a spanking for even calling the police.

P.S.- I have a personal problem with Blue Ash and their “above the law” like attitude.  A few years ago, friend of mine had moved all of his belongings in his conversion van and stayed in a hotel in Blue Ash.  The Blue Ash Police pulled him over, claiming their OH license was suspended, yet they drove on the license from their home state and confiscated their van.  Everything this person owned was in their van.  Their music, guitars & amps, coin collection, their laptop, clothes and so on.  The Blue Ash police NEVER gave back the property, nor did they ever try to contact my friend to return the property.

Source

One Comment leave one →
  1. hazardjsimpson permalink
    January 2, 2009 9:08 pm

    You have to be kidding me – burn the ball? This land is my land? I mean, I understand the whole ‘this is my property’ thing, but what happened to a sense of ‘let bygones be bygones’ and community relationships? I guarantee this is more than meets the eye, and likely this lady is one of those crochety old women who doesn’t like anything under the age of 70. Plus, why does ELDERLY = RESEPECT? Living to be a geriatric pain in the ass isn’t something that automatically deserves respect — acting like a decent human being does. You’re putting this lady on a false pedestal because YOU have personal stakes in the issue with the police. what a load of crap.

Leave a Reply

