Skip to content

Seriously’s $20 Or Less Summer Beauty Series: My Favorite Summer Foundation Shades For Ebony Skin Tones

July 4, 2009

Happy July 4th!

Today I will start my 10 part series on summer beauty.

No one will be excluded.  All of my suggestions will be for everyone of every skin tone, but I will be the “guinea piggy”, so to speak.

I do talk about my skin tone, which is darker in the summer than in winter.

I will be referencing my book, She So Ghetto: How 2 Go From Hood Rat 2 Social Butterfly, so  get  out your copy.  If you didn’t get the book (shame on ya), you can contact me personally and I will guide you to buying your autographed copy online.

I have a chapter that talks specifically about make-up and how to wear it.  for this series, I will talk about day wear makeup.

I see women of all shades wear makeup the wrong way…

What is the wrong way to wear makeup, specifically foundation?

I will talk about that later, but I will get into the meat of my favorite foundations and why.

Here’s a pic of me with makeup, of course, but what you don’t see is my really bad adult acne scars or dark spots.

Oddly enough, I did not have acne in my T-zone (the T-zone is across the forehead, down the nose to the chin), I consistently have acne on the lower jawline and some acne on my neck and back.

I have had worse acne now than I had in teens, and this has made my search for a decent foundation a long one.

I needed foundation that:

  • Didn’t clog pores
  • Gave great coverage, but didn’t feel heavy
  • Looked natural
  • Matched my skin tone
  • Lasted all day

Sigh…I was on a long road and it took me about 2 years to get to a decent place with my foundation, and that was several years ago.

Now, I have better alternatives to what I originally found to help cover my dark spots where I needed and sheer coverage where I need it.

Now, here are my favorite foundations.  These are all from my local drug store so they are readily available for $20 or less!

Thank Heavens For Mineral Foundation!

I truly love mineral foundation and I have bought several drugstore brands.

Revlon Colorstay Mineral Foundation in Deep: I truly love this foundation.  I have done everything in this stuff and it lasts.  I have gone to the gym, been out all day, sweat, rubbed my face, taken a nap and it’s still there with great coverage. You could beat the heck out of this foundation and it can take more!  Of course, you are going to have some wear, but it lasts and didn’t clog my pores.  Great coverage.  I used it as a concealer as well for the dark spots that needed covering.  Use a small brush or dab product powder onto blemish scar  lightly with pinky.  Beware, it is just a tad bit on the orange side, but it’s the darkest they offer.

Cons: It didn’t meet all of the my needs, but it’s not the fault of the product.  I have a problem with it matching my summer skin color.  No matter what skin shade you are, you will tan in the summer.  This color does not match my summer skin shade, but I use it on my cheeks, eyes and forehead where I can get away with a lighter makeup shade.  My chin and jawline are left out because these parts are more important to have matching my neck and summer skin shade.

Mineral Power™ Natural Perfecting Powder Foundation
by Maybelline

This was the first mineral powder foundation I ever tried and I love it!  When I bought it, it late winter early spring and was the perfect shade for me in that season, which was Dark #1…I wish they made this foundation in a darker shade, but they don’t.

Recently, I have worn this when I was going to have a less hectic day.  Not so much activity and not so bright of a day.  As summer came, the foundation became too light for me and I began wearing it more as a highlighter/concealer under my eyes and upper cheek bone and on the lid as a neutral matte eyeshadow.

Of course, you are going to have some wear, but it didn’t clog my pores, it didn’t feel heavy and it matched my color (at the time of year) perfectly!

Cons: It didn’t meet all of the my needs.   You can’t beat up this foundation, it’s very delicate and has a semi sheer coverage.  I had to wear concealer on my blemishes and sometimes the concealer was visible thru the powder.  That’s not good.  I have a problem with it matching my summer skin color.  Like I said, no matter what skin shade you are, you will tan in the summer.  This color does not match my summer skin shade, but I will use it as my summer tan fades.

THE BEST!!!

Mineral Power™ Natural Perfecting Liquid Foundation

In my opinion, this is the best liquid foundation I have tried in a long time.

This is an opaque foundation, yet it does not feel heavy, gloppy or sticky.

It works better than concealer to cover my dark blemishes and matches my jawline to neck color with perfection. Yea, me!

It meets ALL my needs!

  • Didn’t clog pores
  • Gave great coverage, but didn’t feel heavy
  • Looked natural
  • Matched my skin tone
  • Lasted all day

but there is a down side…

Cons: You MUST set this foundation with a powder.  If you don’t, and you sweat…say “bye-bye” to your coverage.

I use the Maybelline Dream Matte Powder in Dark #2-3, then I lightly go over it with a bit of the Revlon Colorstay Mineral Foundation in Deep, escpecially when I know I will be in the heat.

What did I pay?

Check your local drugstores for some fabulous sales.

I got the Revlon Colorstay Mineral Foundation in Deep for $13.99, but I got a second item free with the store promotion.

I got the Mineral Power™ Natural Perfecting Powder Foundation by Maybelline for $8.99

and I got the Mineral Power™ Natural Perfecting Liquid Foundation for 50% off the regular price of $9.99.

Next Time…more reviews, tips and trick…

Save some fireworks for me….

This article and others in this series are based on use of products by Seriously McMillan and are her simply her shared opinions.

UPDATE:

In the pic above, I am wearing Milani Cosmetics Even Tone Powder Foundation ($7.49) .  I used this product until I was scraping it out of the corners of the compact.

I got good coverage, but I did have to go over sections of my face with more acne scars with a concealer before I used the power.  The applicator gave great coverage and it was great for tossing into my purse for touch ups on the go.

My concealer is Black Radiance Creme Foundation Stick in #6816 Espresso. It is a full coverage foundation and I use it so sparingly that I still have a stick of it from 2005, although I have bought newer ones.  I simply use the powder to set the foundation that I use as concealer.

(I used to like the foundation stick by the company Black Opal, but can no longer find their products locally.)

During winter and spring, I am #06 Caramel and during summer and autumn I am #08 Warm Toffee.

Cons: This product does wear or sweat off but is easily reapplied.

Leave a Reply

