Skip to content

Style Etiquette: Do You Buy Clothes A Size Too Small?

July 14, 2009

Ladies,

I know what it’s like.  You are buying this banging dress and you know it’s a size too small, but dammit…You are going to get in that dress.

I have done it, too.

But what does it really do to you?  It frustrates you, because you already know, that the squeezing and tucking and pulling is going to result in your lumpy bumpy love lumps making an appearance.

But, you wouldn’t dare buy a dress a size larger, would you?

That’s CARROTS (Clothes Acquired Rashly Requiring Owners To Slim) for you. If I fit into a 14, I buy a 12.

If I like the dress, but can’t quite do the zip up, I buy it anyway. Why do I do this? Because I’m convinced I am about to lose weight. This is how I think: ‘Look,
there’s a great dress, but it’s not in my size. Maybe I can fit into a size smaller.’

I then try on the dress, fall in love with it and buy it even though it’s too tiny. The dress then sits in the wardrobe waiting for me to lose weight.

banook

Apparently, a third of us are CARROTS. Yes, one-third of womankind spends money
on something they cannot wear, convinced they are on the verge of losing that last half-stone that no one ever loses.

I have friends who have bought skirts they cannot do up, but have hidden the gaping hole in the waistband under a long top.

What’s the solution? Read more at the source.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

