Skip to content

Courage & Triumph: The New Miss England Has A Message! (You’ll Wanna Hear)

July 25, 2009

…You hear black kids say: “I can’t do anything with my life. I live in a ghetto.” I say: “Well, get off your backside and get out of it. Stop making your ethnicity an excuse.”

I want to show them you can do anything you want, whatever your colour. I don’t like hearing: “I can’t do this or that because I’m black.”

‘They should stop behaving in a way that stereotypes them. If you come across as smart, if you dress nicely and speak well, it shouldn’t make a difference if you’re black or white. Maybe some people have experienced racial discrimination. Not me….”

Rachel with second place Lance Corporal Katrina Hodge on the right and third placed Viki Bailey  Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1202029/I-won-Miss-England-prove-black-NEVER-excuse-failure-says-Linford-Christies-niece.html#ixzz0MHK5mRIs

Rachel with second place Lance Corporal Katrina Hodge on the right and third placed Viki Bailey

tweetban

Rachel Christie becomes Miss England 2009

Rachel Christie becomes Miss England 2009

Rachel Christie is setting out the ground rules for any man brave enough to be a potential suitor – and you can bet there will be plenty, after she became the first black Miss England this week.

She won’t countenance indolence, sloppiness or lack of respect. ‘I don’t want to end up with anyone who will hold me back, treat me like rubbish or be a bad influence,’ she says crisply.

‘I want someone who’ll take me seriously. If that sounds old-fashioned, it’s because in personal matters I am.’

Rachel has beauty, attitude and talent – and her aspirations are high. In three years she hopes to compete in the London Olympics – she excels in both track and field events – an ambition fostered by her uncle, Linford Christie.

‘He says I have potential. If he didn’t think I could do it, he would tell me,’ she says.
Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1202029/I-won-Miss-England-prove-black-NEVER-excuse-failure-says-Linford-Christies-niece.html#ixzz0MHJjLRRG

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

