Skip to content

ATL Housewife NeNe: “I Was a Stripper”

August 19, 2009

First, a shout out to my Ghettofab-friend Lisa K. who just loves her some NeNe!

Now, it’s my Lisa K. who opened my mind to watching the show. And, thank goodness she did. There’s a lot to learn from doing all that people watching. You can learn what to do and what not to do.

By now, we all know NeNe and all her antics, but I was touched when I saw her new book.

I thought it was such a good message to send the women out there that they can turn it around whether they marry a millionaire or make their own butter.

No need for her castmates to do any digging! The outspoken Real Housewives of Atlanta star NeNe Leakes is coming right out with a revelation from her past: She was a stripper. And she’s not ashamed.

In her new memoir, Never Make the Same Mistake Twice, in stores now, the reality star opens up about her struggles with abusive relationships and the trials she endured. At one point, Leakes writes in a chapter called “What You Won’t Do, You’ll Do For Love,” she took a job as a stripper at an Atlanta club.

“Yes, I was a stripper, a woman who took her clothes off and danced for dollars,” she writes. “Let the judgment ensue. I mean, it’s easy enough to do, right?”….

Still, Leakes reveals that career as a dancer took a darker turn for a time. She quit the high-profile club after her family heard about her dancing and worked at a seedier establishment. “Men can do some really filthy things in the club,” she writes. “I can tell you this much.”

After quitting her job there, Leakes says she returned to another upscale establishment but eventually met her now-husband, Gregg, who persuaded her to stop dancing. “He was good to me,” she writes.

Via

tweetban-http://www.twitter.com/seriouslymcmill

That’s what I am talking about.  I don’t care about the mistakes that you have made.  I do care about the message you are passing on to our young sisters, no matter what color.

We as women have an obligation to teach through our trials and to try to make a smooth path for the next generation.

Hats off to you, NeNe!

And to you, too, Lisa K.  You know who you are!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

