Skip to content

Much Ado Without Oprah: The Queen Of Media Announces She’s Leaving The Airwaves

November 21, 2009

Oprah Winfrey: Stock Photo 2004

What in the world will we do without the Oprah Winfrey Show?

As with any long-term relationship, the notion that the “party is over” can bring a pain that is not easily accepted.

I spent all of my teens with Oprah.  Watching every show and trying to tape the ones I knew I was going to miss.  I do believe her show topics and the people she had on her show led me to make the decision to live a better life.

There was Donohue that I watched, too and Gerardo and Jerry Springer (when he was legit)…I watched Dinah Shore, too, when I was a wee bitty…

But, no other woman on TV has had an impact on my life as Oprah has.

From “The Color Purple” with Madame Whoopi to “The Women Of Brewster Place” to everything that Oprah touched.

She had folks like Dr. Phil, Dr. Iyanla Van Zant, Gary Zukav, John Gray and the “He Just Not That Into You” guy, Greg Behrendt…and host of others.

Oprah made or broke a career…yes, she did…Yes, she can. (Wink, wink!)

Is she really leaving her infamous Oprah Winfrey Show?

Is the party really over?

Well, time will honestly tell if she may add just one more year…

But if she doesn’t, she will be sorely missed and never forgotten.  The legacy that a poor, obese, abused black woman left on the world is so profound that I don’t understand how anyone can ever doubt themselves and what they can accomplish in their lives.

Oprah was desinted to be nothing…a nobody, but her drive and determination led her above and beyond ever her own expectations, I suspect.

Bravo, Oprah, bravo!

Encore!

“After much prayer, and months of careful thought, I’ve decided that next season — Season 25 — will be the last season of ‘The Oprah Winfrey Show,'” Winfrey said Friday. “And over the next couple of days, you may hear a lot of speculation in the press about why I am making this decision now, and that will mostly be conjecture. So I wanted you to hear this directly from me.

Read the rest here!

 


One Comment leave one →
  1. November 23, 2009 3:35 am

    Oprah has done a world of good in a world of places. She will be missed by many but you know, here legacy in the talk media will continue to march onward.

Leave a Reply

