Skip to content

Phone Etiquette: 5 Reasons Rude People With Cell Phones Suck

February 12, 2010

I have no intention of bashing cell phones.  I think they are a necessary piece of modern life and have been used for the good of man (and women).

Yet, I cannot help but compile this, my latest list of things that suck when you’re rude because I find the things on my list troubling.   My thing is that I feel that some have become communication lazy.  There is a difference between condensing parts of your life; for instance, getting rid of your home phone and using your cell as an all-in-one day planner, phone, alarm and etc.  But, I don’t think that all communication should be reduced to only a phone call, email or text message.   People don’t send cards much anymore as a way to connect with loved ones, which I think is a big mistake.  Read about that here! I am sincerely sad about the state of affairs surrounding old-fashioned hard copy communication.  I can see it, touch it, hold it reread it and blog about it whan I show others.

Excuse me, I think I went on a rant.  Well, here’s another.  This cell phone purgatory we live in.  Please be considerate of other when you are using your cell phone because using a cell phone is making a connection with another person.  When you connect with another person, remember it’s never just about you.

Of course, there are always exceptions to the rules, but when in doubt…

5 Reasons that  rude people with cell phones suck!

  1. Rude People Abuse The Ability To Contact You: Business related calls should be made during the business hours of that time zone. It is good etiquette to make personal calls during business hours and up through 9:00 p.m.  If the person is at work, please use good judgement on when to call them while they are there.  You may call someone later if the person has told you that they don’t mind being disturbed.  Don’t abuse the ability to call someone.  “Dude I am hanging out with some seriously hot chicks and we’re wasted” is not a good reason to call someone in the middle of the night.  Drunk calling may seem funny, but  save that prank for people you know really well or not at all.   Calling people at 12 a.m. for something that you could speak to them about the next day is simply overstepping boundaries.  It is alright to text to someone who you will call them about something in the morning, but if you receive the test, you’re not obligated to return the call in the middle of the night.  Look, most people love their cell phones and talking to you, but that doesn’t mean they love their cell phones and talking to you, exclusively, 24 hrs a day.  (Emergencies excluded)
  2. Rude People Don’t Call You Back: Think of this in reverse.  If you are supposed to call someone back and you have their phone number in your cell phone, suppose the cell phone dies or lost.  Gasp!  Suppose the cell phone dies and you don’t know their number by heart.  Wow!  How many times has this happened to you?  It’s happened to me a lot.  So, I believe it’s always important to allow modern technology only so much give and take.  Keep a good old-fashioned phone book or little black book filled with your phone numbers.  If your cell phone is dead or lost, at least you won’t be at the complete mercy of the cell phone.  You’ll be able to make your phone call and save yourself from seeming like the rude person who didn’t call back.
  3. My Obsession Is My Cell Phone:  They may be lonely, but there are some really looney, lonely people out there and they are obsessed with their cell phones.  There are those who have offensive and loud phone ringtones.  They practically yell into their phones in public places.  They have the ‘I’m cussin’ you out‘ phone fights in public. They play cell phone games at work.  They text all day at work or school. They play with their phones all day.  Cell phones are sometimes the new cigarette.  Gotta have something to do with your hands.  You all know what I am talking about.  Obviously, these people have issues.  What do you do about it?  Steer clear away.  Some dumb bunnies don’t realize they share the earth with other people.  Lead by example.
  4. Talking, Texting & Driving: By far the most dangerous of the bunch.  If you don’t care that it’s rude, simple know it’s dangerous.  I repeat, “Steer clear away.  Some dumb bunnies don’t realize they share the earth with other people.  Lead by example.”  In other, more direct terms, “Put the damn phone down and drive!”  You aren’t as great as multitasking as you think.
  5. Happy Texting Holiday: If the absolute only way to make contact with someone you care about is via cell phone, then you are off the hook.  Sending them a greeting text is fine.   If you know every conceivable piece of information about how to contact someone you care about, don’t text them a holiday greeting.  I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like receiving a greeting card or gift.  Plan ahead.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 5:41 pm

    Hello Miss McMillan,

    I’m surprised no one’s championed your piece on cellphone etiquette yet. A matter of time, of course.

    Poisonally speaking, I’ve given up trying to expect people to behave themselves in a manner befitting a well-raised lady or gentleman, or even that of an adult. Pop culture has turned the old slogan, “Be different! Be unique! Be yourself!” into something more akin to, “Be crass, f* them, who cares? Do what you want,” and I don’t begrudge the public this right.

    After all, that which is not rare, is generally not precious. I expect the common person to act commonly, to act — perfectly average. This average should come out something like an animal with speech by my reckoning: selfish, uneducated, apathetic, lazy, rude, egocentric, reactionary, and having little more than the class and social grace necessary to sustain a mediocre, modern lifestyle. Anyone doing better than this short list is “above” average, and one must not forget all the people falling “below.” The word “vulgar” is Latin for “common,” you know. Isn’t that interesting?

    Yeah. So. I agree with all you’ve stated, of course (and who could argue?) but I’m blase these days when confronted with ungentlemanly or unladylike conduct, because, you know, I’m the weirdo when I behave according to my upbringing. When someone causes a frown by failing to hang up the phone at the appropriate time, that makes sense to me, because the person is acting in perfect accord with the minimum a person must do to survive in this culture, and they get what they deserve when they must contend with the ugly expression of dismay on the person’s face whom they happen to be offending.

    Thanks for your ink, Miss. I’ll be sure to stop by from time to time.

    With All Respect,

    -BothEyes

Leave a Reply

