Skip to content

The President Said What About Fredrick Douglass?

February 2, 2017

I must admit that I am laughing so hard right now. I’m having one of those “pee your pants” laughter moments because as I see it, it’s the best coping mechanism.  I know what you’re saying.  It’s not nice to laugh at others, including the president, when they don’t have a clue about what they are saying, but c’mon.

I learned a lot about Frederick Douglass in grade school and even more in high school and college. Mr. Douglass was a prolific author that made me feel as I was shadowing him in the experiences he wrote in his memoirs and narrative. I mean, I even attended Frederick Douglass Elementary School.

Does the president know that Frederick Douglass passed away in 1895?  I don’t think so.

“Frederick Douglass is an example of somebody who’s done an amazing job and is getting recognized more and more, I notice,” the president said.  Source

I, too, ask the same question that others asked when I read the president’s statement about Frederick Douglass.  After all, it is Black History Month.

“My first instinct was to go on the attack,” said Kenneth B. Morris Jr., Douglass’s great-great-great grandson. “I think it was obvious to anyone that heard [Trump’s] comments or read his comments that he was not up to speed on who Frederick Douglass was. We just thought that was an opportunity to do a history lesson and to make some points about what we’re currently working on.”  Source

220px-frederick_douglass_by_samuel_j_miller_1847-52Mr. Douglass has been at rest for over 100 years, folks. I am sure the president had some stellar education that probably included some American History….? You think?

I mean, I at least know that the only person wearing that Frederick Douglass ‘fro swag other than #Frederick Douglass was Samuel L. Jackson in #Unbreakable.

downloadDid the president confuse the two?

It’s plausible with all that has happened since January 20th, 2017.

Source

Photo(s) Source: Wikipedia

Comments are closed.

